About Us

Hawaii Music Teachers Association (HMTA) was conceived and founded in August 1968 at a tea in honor of Celia Mae Bryant, then vice-president of the Music Teachers National Association (MTNA). Appointed to acting positions were president Alice Kiewit and secretary/treasurer Amy Mitsuda. Through their capable efforts, HMTA received its charter from MTNA in September 1968 and became the 49th state affiliate. Since its founding, HMTA has endeavored to fulfill the purposes stated in its constitution: "To promote the professional growth and development of its members and to further the art of music by providing programs that encourage and support teaching, performance, composition, and scholarly research."

HMTA provides opportunities such as competitions, master classes, workshops, and recitals for students and members. In 2001, 2002, 2004, 2006 and 2010, HMTA presented multi-piano concerts entitled "Pianomania." Over 350 students from Oahu, Hawaii Island, and Kauai performed in each of these concerts. In 2008, the "Parade of Young Musicians" gave students an opportunity to participate in a fun, relaxed and non-competitive festival. The students were adjudicated and recognized for their efforts and given an opportunity to perform at the finale recital which took place at Orvis Auditorium at the University of Hawaii. In 2011, the Parade of Young Musicians opened the HMTA annual convention and in September 2012 the Parade of Young Musicians "duets only" had its premiere run.

Annual State Convention

Our major annual event is the annual convention which has featured nationally renowned performers and clinicians such as John Perry, Aiko Onishi, Gunar Johansen, Lillian Steuber, Daniel Pollack, Milton Stern, Arthur Tollefson, Paul Lyddon, Misha Dichter, Don Walker, Robert Gerle and Marily Neeley (violin-piano duo), Yizhak Schotten and Katherin Collier (piano duo), Henry Miyamura, the Los Angeles Piano Quartet, Edward Shipwright, Thomas Flagg, Jefrrey Shumway, Eduardo Delgado, Jane Allen, Vladimir Feltsman, Constance Keene, Joseph Block, and Steven Harlos.

Additional performers and clinicians have included Marthanne Verbit, Marjoire Lee, Xian-Dong Kong, Angel Liu, Robert Shannon, Haewon Song, Luiz de Moura Cast and Bridget de Moura Castro, Noel Lee, Robert Pace, Frank Iogha, Nelita True, Frances Larimer, Randall Faber, Scott McBride Smith, Douglas Humphreys, Thomas Rosenkranz, John Ellis, Ronald Morgan, Thomas Yee, Stephen Beus, Beebe Freitas, Ignace Jang, Leon Williams, the Fellows of the American Pianists Association (Adam Birnbaum, Thomas Rosenkranz and Michael Sheppard), Sheryl Shohet, Gregory Partain, Christopher O'Riley, Arthur Campbell, Helen Marlais, Ian Parker, William DeVan, Jake Shimabukuro, Michael Sheppard and Joyce Yang.

Past Presidents

Alice Kiewit, 1968-1971
Charles Brennan, 1971
Carol Nakaganeku, 1972-1973
Verna Kam, 1973-1975
Virginia Tom, 1975-1978
Kay Dolan, 1978-1982
Phyllis E. Jardine, 1982-1984
Eileen Hirota, 1984-1986
Hatsume Tanaka, 1986-1990
Ellen Masaki 1990-1992
John Diercks, 1992-1996
Jeannette Chun, NCTM, 1996-1998
Bichuan Li, NCTM, 1998-2000
Helen Chao-Casano, NCTM, 2000-2002
Joanna Fan, 2002-2004
Ethel C. Iwasaki, 2004-2006
Barbara Dyer, 2006-2008
Helen Chao-Casano, NCTM, 2008-2010
Kay Goshi, 2010-2012
Glenn Nagatoshi, 2012-2014

Constitution and Bylaws

pdf file Constitution

pdf file Bylaws